ACM S3 2014

Workshop Program

Location: Room Wilcox + Nantucket (Mezzanine Level).

8:30 AM - 9:10 AM


9:10 AM - 9:20 AM

Opening Remarks

Carlee Joe-Wong and Tarun Bansal

9:20 AM - 10:00 AM

Paper Session: Wireless Applications

Chairs: Haitham Al-Hassanieh
  1. Assessing the Impact of Inter-Vehicle Communication Protocols on Road Traffic Safety
    Stefan Joerer (University of Innsbruck and University of Sydney), Bastian Bloessl (University of Paderborn), Matthaeus Huber (University of Innsbruck), Abbas Jamalipour (University of Sydney), Falko Dressler (University of Paderborn)

  2. CMSAS: A Concept of Middleware Architecture to Integrate Heterogeneous Sensor Networks and Actuators
    Yugo Nakamura and Takahiro Fujiwara (Hakodate National College of Technology)

10:00 AM - 10:30 AM

Coffee Break

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Paper Session: Performance

Chairs: Tarun Bansal
  1. Overhead ACK with Token Passing: An Optimization to 802.11 MAC Protocol
    Shegufta Bakht Ahsan and Nitin Vaidya (UIUC)

  2. D-BigBand: Sensing GHz-Wide Non-Sparse Spectrum on Commodity Radios
    Lixin Shi, Haitham Hassanieh, Dina Katabi (MIT)

  3. Understanding RRC State Dynamics through Client Measurements with Mobilyzer
    Sanae Rosen, Haokun Luo, Qi Alfred Chen, Z. Morley Mao (University of Michigan), Jie Hui, Aaron Drake, Kevin Lau (T-Mobile USA)

11:30 AM - 12:10 PM

Distinguished Speaker: Technical Talk

Life as a PhD Software Engineer at Google: Is it really better than being a researcher?

Ben Greenstein

12:10 PM - 1:30 PM



Chairs: Haitham Al-Hassanieh, Jie Xiong
  1. LTE Radio Analytics Made Easy and Accessible
    Swarun Kumar, Ezzeldin Hamed, Dina Katabi (MIT), Li Erran Li (Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent)

  2. Smart Spectrum Access Algorithms in Mobile TV White Space Networks for Network Utility Maximization
    Liang Zheng and Chee Wei Tan (City University of Hong Kong)

  3. Ziria: Language for Rapid Prototyping of Wireless PHY
    Mahanth Gowda (UIUC), Gordon Stewart (Princeton University), Geoffrey Mainland (Drexel University), Bozidar Radunovic (Microsoft Research), Dimitrios Vytiniotis (Microsoft Research), Doug Patterson (Microsoft)

1:30 PM - 2:20 PM

Distinguished Panel

Moderators: Carlee Joe-Wong and Haitham Al-Hassanieh

Eduardo Cuervo Laffaye
Microsoft Research

Chunyi Peng
Ohio State University

Ben Greenstein

2:20 PM - 3:00 PM

Distinguished Speaker: Dina Katabi

Dina Katabi
Dina Katabi

3:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Coffee Break

3:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Paper Session: Localization

Chairs: Jie Xiong
  1. RF-IDraw: Virtual Touch Screen in the Air Using RF Signals
    Deepak Vasisht, Jue Wang, Dina Katabi (MIT)

  2. Using Crowdsourced Satellite SNR Measurements for 3D Mapping and Real-time GNSS Positioning Improvement
    Andrew T. Irish, Daniel Iland, Jason T. Isaacs, Joao P. Hespanha, Elizabeth M. Belding, Upamanyu Madhow (UC Santa Barbara)

  3. Virtual Multipath Attacks against Location Distinction in Wireless Networks
    Song Fang, Yao Liu (University of South Florida), Wenbo Shen (NCSU), Haojin Zhu (Shanghai Jiaotong University)

4:30 PM - 4:40 PM

Concluding Remarks and Award Ceremony

Copyright © 2014, ACM S3.